top of page

The passpover plagues

passover plagues

ChatGPT In the story of the Exodus from Egypt, which is told in the book of Exodus in the Hebrew Bible, God sent ten plagues upon the Egyptians to convince Pharaoh to free the Israelite slaves. Here are the ten plagues, in order:

  1. Water into Blood (דָם / Dam): The water of the Nile River was turned into blood, killing the fish and making the water undrinkable.

  2. Frogs (צְּפַרְדֵּעַ / Tzfardaya): An abundance of frogs left the river and covered the land.

  3. Lice or Gnats (כִּנִּים / Kinim): The dust of the earth became lice or gnats throughout all of Egypt, afflicting people and animals.

  4. Wild Animals or Flies (עָרוֹב / Arov): Swarms of wild animals or possibly flies invaded the houses of the Egyptians.

  5. Diseased Livestock (דֶּבֶר / Dever): A pestilence killed the Egyptians' horses, donkeys, camels, cattle, sheep, and goats.

  6. Boils (שְׁחִין / Shechin): Painful boils afflicted humans and animals.

  7. Thunderstorm of Hail and Fire (בָּרָד / Barad): A severe weather phenomenon destroyed crops and livestock and caused human fatalities.

  8. Locusts (אַרְבֶּה / Arbeh): Locusts consumed all remaining crops and greenery.

  9. Darkness (חוֹשֶך / Choshech): A darkness that could be felt covered Egypt for three days.

  10. Death of the Firstborn (מַכַּת בְּכוֹרוֹת / Makat Bechorot): Every firstborn Egyptian son and firstborn of livestock was killed.

These plagues are traditionally recounted during the Passover Seder. The progression of the plagues shows increasing severity, culminating in the most extreme, the death of the firstborn. After the final plague, Pharaoh finally released the Israelites from slavery.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page