top of page

What is the israeli Parliament?

The Israeli Parliament is called the Knesset. It is the unicameral national legislature of Israel and is located in Jerusalem. The Knesset passes all laws, elects the President and Prime Minister (although the latter is ceremonially appointed by the President), approves the cabinet, and supervises the work of the government. The Knesset has 120 members, known as Knesset Members (KMs), who are elected through a nationwide proportional representation vote every four years, or sooner if the Knesset votes to dissolve itself. Knesset committees are responsible for legislative work, reviewing and amending bills. There are several types of committees including Permanent Committees, Special Committees, and Parliamentary Inquiry Committees. Among the Knesset's important functions are discussing the nation's budget, ratification of treaties with foreign countries, and making decisions on security matters. As of my knowledge cutoff in September 2021, the speaker of the Knesset is Mickey Levy. The Knesset has been in operation since February 14, 1949, when it replaced the Provisional State Council that existed from 1948 to 1949.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page